1. K-State home
  2. »Brownfields and Urban Agriculture
  3. »Resources
  4. »EPA and State Brownfields Contacts

Brownfields and Urban Agriculture

Resources

Regional EPA Contacts and State Brownfields Contacts

EPA Region 1

Frank Gardner, gardner.frank@epa.gov, 617-918-1278 

EPA Region 1 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Jim Byrne, byrne.james@epa.gov, 617-918-1389

Connecticut: Mark Lewis mark.lewis@ct.gov, 860-424-3768

Massachusetts: Rodney Elliot, rodney.elliot@state.ma.us, 617-292-5523 

Maine: Nicholas Hodgkins, nick.hodgkins@maine.gov, 207-287-4854
New Hampshire: Mike McCluskey, michael.mccluskey@des.nh.gov, 603-271-2183

Rhode Island: Kelly Owens, kelly.owens@dem.ri.gov, 401-222-2797 Ext. 7108
Vermont: Patricia Coppolino, patricia.coppolino@state.vt.us, 802-241-1093


EPA Region 2

Terry Wesley, wesley.terry@epa.gov, 212-637-5027

EPA Region 2 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Alison Devine, devine.alison@epa.gov, 212-637-4158

New Jersey: William Lindner, william.lindner@dep.nj.gov, 609-633-1223

New York: Michael Ryan, michael.ryan@dec.ny.gov518-402-9706 
Puerto Rico: Carmen Guerrero, guerrero.carmen@epa.gov, 787-977-5875
U.S. Virgin Islands: Dr. Clanicia Pelle, pelle.clanicia@dpnr.gov.vi, 340-773-1082 


EPA Region 3

Felicia Fred, fred.felicia@epa.gov, 215-814-5524

EPA Region 3 Targeted Brownfields Assessments

Michael Taurino, taurino.michael@epa.gov, 215 814-3371 

Delaware: Jim Poling, jpoling@state.de.us, 302-395-2636

District of Columbia: James Sweeney, james.sweeney@dc.gov, 202-535-2600

Maryland: James Carroll, james.carroll@maryland.gov, 410-537-3493
Pennsylvania: Troy Conrad, tconrad@pa.gov, 717-783-7816
Virginia: Vince Maiden, vincent.maiden@deq.virginia.gov, 804-698-4064
West Virginia: Don Martin, donald.w.martin@wv.gov, 304-926-0499 Ext. 1275


EPA Region 4

Barbara Alfano, alfano.barbara@epa.gov404-562-8923

EPA Region 4 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Bob Rosen, rosen.bob@epa.gov, 404-562-8761

Alabama: Sonja Favors, smb@adem.state.al.us334-279-3067
Florida: Laura Barrett, laura.k.barrett@dep.state.fl.us, 850-245-2373
Georgia: Shanon Ridley, shanon.ridley@dnr.ga.gov404-657-8616
Kentucky: Herb Petitjean, herb.petitjean@ky.gov, 502-782-6432; Amanda LeFevre, amanda.lefevre@ky.gov, 502-782-6398  

Mississippi: William McKercher, wmckercher@mdeq.ms.gov, 601-961-5731

North Carolina: Bruce Nicholson, bruce.nicholson@ncdenr.gov, 919-707-8330
South Carolina: Robert Hodges, hodgesrf@dhec.sc.gov, 803-898-0919
Tennessee: Robin Heriges, robin.l.heriges@tn.gov, 615-741-4936


EPA Region 5

Jan Pels, jan.pels@epa.gov, 312-886-3009

EPA Region 5 targeted brownfields assessments: 

Brad Stimple, Stimple.Brad@epa.gov, 440-250-1717

Illinois: Greg Dunn, greg.dunn@illinois.gov, 217-785-2359
Indiana: Michele Oertel, moertel@ifa.in.gov, 317-234-0235
Ohio: Katie Courtright, Kathleen.Courtright@epa.ohio.gov, 614-644-2938
Michigan: Ron Smedley, smedleyr@michigan.gov, 517-373-4805
Wisconsin: Christine Haag, christine.haag@wisconsin.gov, 608-266-0244 
Minnesota: Shanna Schmitt, shanna.schmitt@state.mn.us, 651-757-2697


EPA Region 6

Mary Kemp, kemp.mary@epa.gov, 214-665-8358

EPA Region 6 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Karen Peycke, peycke.karen@epa.gov, 214-665-7273

Arkansas: Terry Sligh, terry@adeq.state.ar.us, 501-682-0867
Louisiana: Duane Wilson, duane.wilson@la.gov, 225-219-3144 
New Mexico: Ali Furmall, ali.furmall@state.nm.us, 505-827-0078
Oklahoma: Aron Samwel, aron.samwel@deq.ok.gov, 405-702-5123 
Texas: Kristian Livingston, Kristian.Livingston@tceq.texas.gov, 512-239-2252


EPA Region 7

Susan Klein, klein.susan@epa.gov, 913-551-7786

EPA Region 7 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Todd Davis, davis.toddh@epa.gov, 913-551-7749

Kansas: Seth Mettling, seth.mettling@ks.gov, 785-291-5519
Nebraska: Taryn Serwatowski, taryn.serwatowski@nebraska.gov, 402-471-6411
Iowa: Mel Pins, mel.pins@dnr.iowa.gov, 515-281-8489
Missouri: Catherine Jones, catherine.jones@dnr.mo.gov, 573-526-4725


EPA Region 8

Ted Lanzano, lanzano.ted@epa.gov, 303-312-6596

EPA Region 8 targeted brownfields assessments: 
William Rothenmeyer, rothenmeyer.william@epa.gov, 303-312-6045

Colorado: Doug Jamison, doug.jamison@state.co.us, 303-692-3404
Montana: Jason Seyler, jsaeyler@mt.gov, 406-444-6447, or Brandon Kingsbury, bkingsbury@mt.gov, 406-444-6547 
North Dakota: Derek Hall, dahall@nd.gov, 701-328-5166
South Dakota: Kim McIntosh, kim.mcintosh@state.sd.us, 605-773-3296
Utah: Bill Rees, brees@utah.gov, 801-536-4167
Wyoming: Cindi Martinez, cindi.martinez@wyo.gov, 307 777-2948


EPA Region 9

EPA contact for AZ: Jose Francisco Garcia, garcia.jose@epa.gov, 415-972-3331 

EPA contact for CA, HI: Noemi Emeric-Ford, emeric-ford.noemi@epa.gov, 213-244-1821

EPA contact for NV: Lisa Hanusiak, hanusiak.lisa@epa.gov, 415-972-3846

EPA Region 9 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Nova Blazej, blazej.nova@epa.gov, 415-972-3846

Arizona: Jennie Curé, jec@azdeq.gov, 602-771-2296
California: Maryam Tasnif-Abbasi, mtasnif@dtsc.ca.gov, 714-484-5489
Hawaii: Melody Calisaymelody.calisay@doh.hawaii.gov808-586-4249
Nevada: David Friedman, dfriedman@ndep.nv.gov, 775-687-9385


EPA Region 10

EPA contact for AK: Mary Goolie, goolie.mary@epa.gov, 907-271-3414 

EPA contact for  ID: Susan Morales, morales.susan@epa.gov, 206-553-7299

EPA contact for OR: Margaret Olson, olson.margaret@epa.gov, 503-326-5874

EPA contact for WA: Deborah Burgess, burgess.deborah@epa.gov, 360-753-9079

EPA Region 10 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Joanne LaBaw, labaw.joanne@epa.gov, 206-553-2594

Alaska: Christy Howard, christy.howard@alaska.gov, 907-465-5206 
Idaho: Eric Traynor, eric.traynor@deq.idaho.gov, 208-373-0565 
Oregon: Gil Wistar, wistar.gil@deq.state.or.us, 503-229-5512,  or Karen Homolac,karen.homolac@biz.state.or.us, 503-986-0191
Washington: Alan Bogner, alan.bogner@ecy.wa.gov, 360-407-7235