1. K-State home
  2. »Brownfields and Urban Gardening
  3. »Resources
  4. »EPA and State Brownfields Contacts

Brownfields and Urban Agriculture

Resources

Regional EPA Contacts and State Brownfields Contacts

EPA Region 1

John Podgurski, podgurski.john@epa.gov, 617-918-1296 

EPA Region 1 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Alan Peterson, peterson.alan@epa.gov, 617-918-1022

Connecticut: Mark Lewis mark.lewis@ct.gov, 860-424-3768

Massachusetts: Kerry Bowie, kerry.bowie@state.ma.us, 617-556-1007 

Maine: Nicholas Hodgkins, nick.hodgkins@maine.gov, 207-287-4854
New Hampshire: Rebecca Williams, rebecca.williams@des.nh.gov, 603-271-6573

Rhode Island: Kelly Owens, kelly.owens@dem.ri.gov, 401-222-2797 Ext. 7108
Vermont: Patricia Coppolino, patricia.coppolino@state.vt.us, 802-249-5822


EPA Region 2

Terry Wesley, wesley.terry@epa.gov212-637-5027

EPA Region 2 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Alison Devine, devine.alison@epa.gov, 212-637-4158

New Jersey: Timothy Bartle, timothy.bartle@dep.state.nj.us, 609-633-1499
New York: Robert Schick, rxschick@gw.dec.state.ny.us518-402-9662;  Donna Weigel, dmweigel@gw.dec.state.ny.us, 518-402-9764
Puerto Rico: Nitza Marrero, nitzamarrero@jca.gobierno.pr, 787-767-8181, Ext. 6103
U.S. Virgin Islands: Dr. Clanicia Pelle, pelle.clanicia@dpnr.gov.vi, 340-773-1082 


EPA Region 3

Kristeen Gaffney, gaffney kristeen@epa.gov, 215-814-2092

EPA Region 3 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Mike Taurino, taurino.michael@epa.gov, 215-814-3371

Delaware: Jim Poling, jpoling@state.de.us, 302-395-2636
District of Columbia: James Sweeney, james.sweeney@dc.gov, 202-535-2289
Maryland: James Carroll, jcarroll@mde.state.md.us, 410-537-3459
Pennsylvania: Troy Conrad, tconrad@state.pa.us, 717-783-7816
Virginia: Meade Anderson, j.meade.anderson@deq.virginia.gov, 804-698-4179
West Virginia: Don Martin, dwmartin@wvdep.org, 304-926-0499 Ext. 1275


EPA Region 4

Barbara Alfano, alfano.barbara@epa.gov404-562-8923

EPA Region 4 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Bob Rosen, rosen.bob@epa.gov, 404-562-8761

Alabama: Larry Norris, lan@adem.state.al.us334-279-3053
Florida: Kimberly Walker, kim.walker@dep.state.fl.us, 850-245-8934
Georgia: Beth Blalock, beth.blalock@dnr.state.ga.us404-657-8616
Kentucky: Herb Petitjean, herb.petitjean@ky.gov, 502-564-0323; Amanda LeFevreamanda.lefevre@ky.gov, 502-564-0323  

Mississippi: Trey Hess, trey_hess@deq.state.ms.us, 601-961-5654

North Carolina: Bruce Nicholson, bruce.nicholson@ncdenr.gov, 919-707-8330
South Carolina: Robert Hodges, hodgesrf@dhec.sc.gov, 803-898-0919
Tennessee: Paula Larson, paula.larson@tn.gov, 615-532-0900


EPA Region 5

Matt Didier, Didier.matthew@epa.gov, 312- 353-2112

EPA Region 5 targeted brownfields assessments: 

Brad Stimple, Stimple.Brad@epa.gov, 440-250-1717

Illinois: Steve Colantino, steve.colantino@illinois.gov, 217-785-3497
Indiana: Michele Oertel, moertel@ifa.in.gov, 317-234-0235
Ohio: Amy Yersavich, amy.yersavich@epa.state.oh.us, 614-644-2285
Michigan: Ron Smedley, smedleyr@michigan.gov, 517-373-4805
Wisconsin: Andrew Savagian, andrew.savagian@wisconsin.gov, 608-261-6422 
Minnesota: John Betcher,  john.betcher@state.mn.us, 651-757-2226


EPA Region 6

Mary Kemp, kemp.mary@epa.gov, 214-665-8358

EPA Region 6 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Tony Roberson, roberson.tony@epa.gov, 214-665-2235

Arkansas: Terry Sligh, terry@adeq.state.ar.us, 501-682-0867,
Louisiana: Duane Wilson, brownfields@la.gov, 225-219-3144 
New Mexico: Art Vollmer, art.vollmer@state.nm.us, 505-476-6004
Oklahoma: Heather Mallory,heather.mallory@deq.ok.gov, 405-702-5135 
Texas: Kristian Livingston, Kristian.Livingston@tceq.texas.gov, 512-239-2252


EPA Region 7

Jennifer Morris, Morris.Jennifer@epa.gov, 913-551-7341

EPA Region 7 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Todd Davis, davis.toddh@epa.gov, 913-551-7749

Kansas: Kaitlin Salley,ksalley@kdheks.gov, 785-296-5519
Nebraska: Carrie Wiese, carrie.wiese@nebraska.gov, 402-471-6411
Iowa: Mel Pins, mel.pins@dnr.iowa.gov, 515-281-8489
Missouri: Catherine Jones, catherine.jones@dnr.mo.gov, 573-526-4725


EPA Region 8

Ted Lanzano, lanzano.ted@epa.gov, 303-312-6596

EPA Region 8 targeted brownfields assessments: 
William Rothenmeyer, rothenmeyer.william@epa.gov, 303-312-6045

Colorado: Doug Jamison, doug.jamison@state.co.us, 303-692-3404
Montana: Jason Seyler, jsaeyler@mt.gov, 406-841-5071, or Amy Steinmetz, asteinmetz@mt.gov, 406-841-5053
North Dakota: Derek Hall, dahall@nd.gov, 701-328-5166
South Dakota: Kim McIntosh, kim.mcintosh@state.sd.us, 605-773-3296
Utah: Bill Rees, brees@utah.gov, 801-536-4167
Wyoming: Vickie Meredith, vmered@state.wy.us, 307-335-6948


EPA Region 9

EPA contact for AZ: Jose Francisco Garcia, garcia.jose@epa.gov415-972-3331 

EPA contact for CA, HI: Noemi Emeric-Ford, emeric-ford.noemi@epa.gov, 213-244-1821

EPA contact for NV: Nova Blazej, blazej.nova@epa.gov415-972-3846

EPA Region 9 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Nova Blazej, blazej.nova@epa.gov415-972-3846

Arizona: Jennie Curé, jec@azdeq.gov602-771-2296
California: Maryam Tasnif-Abbasi, mtasnif@dtsc.ca.gov, 714-484-5489
Hawaii: Melody Calisaymelody.calisay@doh.hawaii.gov808-586-4249
Nevada: David Friedman, dfriedman@ndep.nv.gov, 775-687-9385


EPA Region 10

EPA contact for AK: Mary Goolie, goolie.mary@epa.gov907-271-3414 

EPA contact for  ID: Susan Morales, morales.susan@epa.gov, 206-553-7299

EPA contact for OR: Mike Slater, slater.mike@epa.gov, 503-326-5872

EPA contact for WA: Deborah Burgess, burgess.deborah@epa.gov, 360-753-9079

EPA Region 10 targeted brownfields assessments: 
Joanne LaBaw, labaw.joanne@epa.gov, 206-553-2594

Alaska: Amy Dieffenbacheramy.dieffenbacher@alaska.gov, 907-465-5368 
Idaho: Eric Traynor, eric.traynor@deq.idaho.gov, 208-373-0565 
Oregon: Gil Wistar, wistar.gil@deq.state.or.us, 503-229-5512,  or Karen Homolac,karen.homolac@biz.state.or.us, 503-986-0191
Washington: Jodi Gearon, jgea461@ecy.wa.gov, 360-407-7235